* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Are you a good employee?

I'll be honest here; I DO NOT make a good employee.  When I get into a place, it keeps me interested for about 6-12 months.  By then, I know everyone, have an understanding and experience on how the place works, and its technology/market/industry.  No I'm not an expert, but it soon becomes "how to do the same piece of crap work; just faster".  And this is about the point that I begin to crash.  And am actually surprised that I managed to last this long without getting fired.  Motivation goes out the window and my focus is everywhere but the "day job".  The current place isn't really bad at all.  I'm just bored. My manager and I will be having a sit down to discuss my career and how it relates to this place.

I *am* looking for a different job, but have also been thinking of switching over to doing contract/consulting work.  I figure this pace would maybe keep me more satisfied.  As my micro-ISV is still in such infancy, a day job to subsidize it is still required.  But I dream of the moment I can tell "The Man" to shove it.

It then made me realize that I'd probably be happier being my own boss then code monkey #2435 (hence the ISV).  And as my own boss, with my own personal investment in the company, my motivation to grow "my little baby" would probably be sustained much longer.