The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

My job is stressing me out!

I work in an IT department at a non-tech company.  There are a handful of people who are carrying everyone else.  There are several loafers who get away with doing very little work while others are stressed to the max.  Everyone has their niche but responsibilities are not really clearly defined.  We have network people, support techs, etc.  I am mainly a programmer but I also wear many other hats:

Application Design
Coding
Testing
DBA
Project Management
Documentation
Training
Support Tech
Meeting with End Users
Dealing with Complaints

I've heard of shops where each of these functions would be individual positions yet I am involved in all of those areas.

In addition, there are several vendor-based systems that I am responsible for.  One of those responsibilities is to deal with difficult vendors (for systems that I do not build) and have to make sure they are doing their work.  I'm the "middle man" between the vendor and the users in the department that use their product.  The users are often frustrated with the product and the vendors tend to be understaffed, underskilled (I've had to bail them out on a couple occasions), and unable to satisfy the users.  Just going back and forth with these people tends to suck up a lot of time and energy.