The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Is it better to be a consultant or stay with a company?

Like my nickname implies, I'm a recent grad who's been doing programming for about two years; during that time I've worked for 2 different companies - one was a non-IT shop where things quickly turned dysfunctional and I found a new job after a couple of months, I'm at that second job now and I do Asp.Net mostly.

A couple of friends keep telling me that I should look at striking off on my own and becoming a consultant; there's a lot of smaller businesses in my area that might need programming services.  My friends keep saying that's the only way to make "real" money in software, and that I'm being silly for wanting to stay an employee.