The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Did I just make a career limiting move?

Hi,

I've been a software developer for about 12 years, doing a lot of product development.

My company that I have been with for the past 5 years went bankrupt (ibank software... kaboom).

Anyway, I sort of panicked and took a job with a very large software company (the job fell into my lap).

The job is actually not doing product development, but creating automation tools for very very large scale tests.

I did retain my 'software engineer' title and got a really nice salary package.

But I'm very anxious that this might be a black mark on my resume and I'll have a hard time finding a product development job later on.  In fact I'm so anxious about it I'm considering resigning even though it is only my 2nd week there.  It is keeping me up at night.  I fear I will lose my edge.

Should I stick it out for 6 mos-1 year (and maybe learn something new) and then try to find a job more inline with what I'd like to be doing?    Or should I get out now and try to find something while jobless?

Thanks.
Delicious Irony Send private email
Thursday, May 07, 2009

i personally think that after 12 years of product development, 1 year or 2 of automation tools dev is near to nothing...
Victor the Python Artist Send private email
Thursday, May 07, 2009

On the contrary, I think it is a good move.  I'd be more inclined to hire someone who has some different experiences - especially with automated testing
Tim J Send private email
Thursday, May 07, 2009