The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

MBA or MIS

Hi everyone,
I have 3 year of work experience in the IT field and would prefer being in the same field itself. But i am confused over the various options
-Do a MIS ?
-Do MBA with IT as core

Leave the options and get IT certifications done from MS and continue in this pattern..

Any help will do :)

Thanks,
Jacob
Jacob Jose Neroth Send private email
Wednesday, May 06, 2009

Option 3: Save your time and money. invest your money and build up your reserves for a rainy day or your retirement.

I have an MBA and a Masters in Software Engineering. The MBA is useless crap (I went to a ranked program too... all MBAs are crap) and my Software Engineering masters helped with a few marginal things that I would have learned at work or on my own anyway.

You won't get more money from having this. The highest paying jobs don't care about degrees. It is only the low to middle wage jobs that care about credentials. Seriously... I know this from experience.

I am a contractor. Whenever I get a call from some idiot who is excited about my pretty resumes with my degrees and my certifications alarm bells go off  "they don't pay anything". The ones that pay well ($80/hour+) never ask about this stuff. They just want to find out if you can do the work.
Contractor Send private email
Wednesday, May 06, 2009

What do you want to be doing 5 years from now?

Ten?
Matthew Heusser Send private email
Wednesday, May 06, 2009

I would still like to be an active coder /programmer 5-10 years down the line. Try out new technologies and things.
Wednesday, May 06, 2009