The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Degree over and done with!

I'm a self-taught programmer, been doing it for years unprofessionally, had a few jobs totaling 3 years (spread over 10), released my own app (only £300/$600 per month).

Got sick of stacking shelves so I decided to get an IT degree, at a well respected University in the UK.

I've now completed it (awaiting results), and I honestly beleive degrees are completely over-rated.
Out of the 7 people I studied with, there's only 2 who I'd trust anywhere near a computer, and that's only due to their prior experience.

The majority of the crap taught was relevant 10 years ago, the assignments were spoon-fed, and the exams were "open-book, but don't tell anyone". Is this the norm??

That said, I've already been getting *offers* for jobs I wouldn't have dreamed even applying for 4 years ago!

My advice if you're self-taught: just go for it. If you can operate Word, use Google+Wikipedia, and have working ctrl, c, and v buttons, you'll breeze through it. Just don't let on that you know your stuff or the others will bleed you dry!

That's my rant over. See you all in the battle field!
ex-student
Monday, June 23, 2008

I'm in the US not the UK so I am guessing when you say you got an IT degree that may be equivalent to a MIS (management of information systems) degree or similar in the US.  Here those degrees are given by business schools.  They are generally considered easy since they train one for a business support position.