The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Product Manager?

I am thinking of applying for a product manager position. I've been a dev for a couple of years, and I've been involved with many aspects of product development, including: gathering requirements (meaning talking to would-be users and taking notes), writing req. spec, design spec, doing the actual implementation of course, writing user guide and even some training. One thing that'd be lacking in my experience is project (including people) management. I guess it depends, but does a product manager cover project/people management too? Do you think I have a realistic chance in landing the job or should I wait for a couple more years?
Anold
Wednesday, June 18, 2008

I say go for what you want.  You may want to take a couple of project management and human management courses first, but they are very easy compared to CS courses.
Earl Grey
Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Answer is 'Depends'.

Generally I've found a product managers is a sales/marketing style person who owns the business side of a product.  They don't get involved in coding it or in project managing the development of it. 

What they do do is work out what the product will do - how does it compare to competitors products.  Are there markets you can expand into?  Do you spend money on a better GUI, or on extra functionality?  That type of stuff.  And they're the ones who have to explain to shareholders/CEOs why version 2.0 isn't going to be released in time for Christmas.