The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Version Control Systems for Website Design, any suggestions?

I am wondering if anyone has suggestions for a version control system to use for website developments. I know that all such systems can track changes to Perl scripts, HTML, CSS, JPG/GIFs. But, let me give a bit of context below to what I am looking for.

I have been a software developer for about 11 years now. As part of my work, I could not live without a version control system. In fact, 2 years ago I came to this new company and current job and we had nothing. First thing I did was to install one (I won't let you know which one we ended-up with since this is not the answer I am asking for).

In my professional work I do not design websites or web technologies. I mostly develop desktop applications/services/client-server systems, embedded software and so on. As such, I mostly develop in C#/C++/C.

However, I have a personal interest in web design. I have a "very small" website mostly for the family and friends (few photos and instruction as to how to get to my house). I am also involved in my community; where my technical background often let me to put in place/manage some small websites. I even developed a small, Perl-based, content management system for managing news, activities/events and columns.