The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

To the software developers out there.

When asked what work you do (by people outside the IT realm), do you tell them that you’re a “programmer” or a “software developer”?

A family member asked me, and I said I’m a programmer.  His reply was that his friend was a “software developer”, and he made it seem like his friends job was superior to my own  (I would’ve told him that I’m a software developer if I knew he would know what it was!).

I always thought they were the same…  Until I wikipedia’ed it.  And would you believe it, “programming” is derogatory compared to “software development”… 
What are your views?  What do you think is the difference?
Sprite
Wednesday, June 04, 2008

i say programmer even though i'm much more; people in general don't understand much; most think programming is typing away at the computer all day; just typing. imagine that, if t was that easy.
lemon obrien Send private email
Wednesday, June 04, 2008

Personally, I try to change the topic as quickly as possible.
Sambo
Wednesday, June 04, 2008

I say that I used to do electrical, but now I write software. People are impressed by the former, and very unimpressed by the latter. Its the only way to have some dignity with the industry having such a poor reputation by outsiders.

Wednesday, June 04, 2008

Long time ago I took my girlfriend to Urgent Care. Doctor comes in and while he's looking at her twisted ankle, asks us what we do. I say "I'm a software engineer" and at the same time she says "I'm a computer programmer."