The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

SharePoint for issue tracking?

Hi folks,

I work in the support group of a small software company. We currently don't have an issue tracking system, and it seems the time has come to get one. We've looked at some third-party solutions, but all were either cost-prohibitive or didn't do what we wanted.

We have an internal SharePoint site, and for the last week or so, I've been doing some playing around. I'm not a developer, but I've been pretty impressed with how much you can apparently do with it. In a few days, I rigged up a comprehensive InfoPath "support issue" form, and set it up in a form library with all sorts of customized views. Originally, I was just trying to put together a prototype of what we want, but it kind of seems like we could just use this to do what we want.

I'm just curious: has anybody else employed SharePoint to do something like this? Any caveats I should be aware of? Thanks!
emga
Thursday, November 15, 2007

What is the difference between an infopath form on a sharepoint server and an ms. access app with a couple of different forms? This is not a rhetorical question. I really want to know?
SCADA Guy

Simple issue tracking is really not that complicated and Sharepoint can do a fine job at it.  We used Sharepoint / InfoPath at my last workplace to track time cards.  I think I spent 30 minutes putting that "app" together and deploying it.

Check out the following:
http://blogs.msdn.com/sharepoint/archive/2006/06/07/introduction-to-sharepoint-workflow.aspx