The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Programmer with Headaches

Hello - I've been writing code happily for 17 years and within the last year I've developed headaches after working on the keyboard all day.  I had a CT scan of my head and nothing bad was found.  I then went to a DO (doctor of osteopathy) who says my bad posture combined with working at the computer all the time is taking its toll (RSI triggered - repetitive stress injury).  I'm trying to use better posture (not leaning my head forward) but have not really noticed any significant improvements.  Also I'm avoiding using the computer as much at home and cut out gaming.  Has anyone else experienced this and if so what did you do to correct it?
blnProgrammerWithAHeadAche
Tuesday, May 15, 2007

Similar thing happened to me 4 years ago. For me, the solution was a pair of prescription glasses that aren't much more than reading glasses. I also need to keep the brightness of my monitor down.

I still get headaches every so often, but not like I did before - which was every day.

So my suggestion - have your eyes checked, and tell them you get headaches working on the computer all day -
OneNerd
Tuesday, May 15, 2007

It's probably inoperable cancer.
YourDoctor
Tuesday, May 15, 2007

This kind of thinsg doesn't suddenly appear and won't suddenly disappear.  What I'm doing:

- I watch my posture (still gets knots at the base of mt neck sometimes)
- I keep my prescription glasses a) clean and b) current
- I moved my monitor further away from my face & below level-eye-line (about 24" now)