The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Job in an IBank

I'll soon be starting a job in a (european) investment bank on the trading floor as a Developer (Technology - Fixed Income). I have never worked for a bank before. My role will be at "analyst" level, and I will be working on the trading, risk and pricing system.

- What should I expect? I am worried that I'll be yelled at by rude traders (although the technology desk is on the other side of the trading floor)

- I am nervous as they'll put me on a six month probabtion. How do I survive?

- What is it like working for a bank? Is there a different culture between the american and european banks?

- I'll have a few weeks before I begin, what can I do to prepare? I am concerned about the amount of business knowledge required as well as the normal things about starting a new job (I'm thinking books to read..).
kr
Thursday, May 10, 2007

I highly recommend reading the following two books before you start:

Liar's Poker
When Genius Failed : The Rise & Fall of LCTM

They are accounts of the rise and fall of Salomon Brothers and Long Term Capital Management respectively. You will glean a bit of domain knowledge from them but they are an interesting read as well.

You should prepare yourself to be yelled at by Traders (at least then it won't come as a shock if it does happen). I imagine long hours will be the norm as you will need to be there from before the market opens to after it closes (so probably something like 7am - 6pm and perhaps later). But hey, you're closer to the money, right? :)