The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Am I working too hard?

At my job, I am the only programmer in our IT group.  I am a developer, database administrator, project manager, analyst, and tech writer.  I am also expected to "help out" during emergencies and networking outages. 

My co-workers are distracting.  I'm trying to work and they spend half their time talking and it's a distraction.  They're either putting their heads together to solve a problem that one of them should be able to solve, talking about non-work related stuff, complaining about management, or making personal phone calls on company time. 

It seems that some co-workers who don't have enough to do.  They spend a lot of their time playing games or surfing the web while I'm busting ass.  They are paid just as much for only a fraction of the work.

My boss knows NOTHING about what I do, so it is also my job to not only go to meetings to deal with upper management, but do the work as well.  There are so many projects that they want done, but I can only do so much.

And then there are the typical office politics and a couple annoying co-workers....but that's the case in pretty much any job.

All of this stresses me out a bit.  Am I being taken advantage of or should I be happy I am responsible for so much and learn how to deal with the stress better?
Jack
Wednesday, May 02, 2007

Get a better job. You will stagnate and be obselete if you stay there. Also, you'll never move up.

Wednesday, May 02, 2007