The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Am I "toast" as a developer?

Hi,

I'm an experienced developer. I am wondering if I am losing the essence that makes one able to call themself a developer.

After a considerable hiatus (layoff+extended job search), I have an opportunity to use .Net on a new contract project. I don't *have* to use .Net, but I am a Windows C++ and Delphi guy who stayed on the workstation while everyone else moved onto web applications, so I see .Net as critical to ensuring my future employability as a developer.

I looked over .Net (this is a web project) and installed and messed with a couple of reference projects in order to get up to speed. My general feeling is CRIPES, what a waste of needless complexity. This feels like an enormous learning curve. Going to Windows felt nothing like this.

I've done some web work with Apache and Perl type solutions and even though the GNU stuff doesn't seem to be highly marketable in a developer sense (used more for sys admins and ISP work) I feel much more in control of the LAMP stuff.

I've been in the field a long time (since the mid 1980s) and .Net just "feels wrong".

Is my diminished interest in learning something new similar to a "canary in a coalmine" effect? That is, is this indicating that I should transition to another line of work? Or is it indicating that I have some decent judgement about tools and I have summarily judged the tool by past experience?