The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Need some pointers on the process of development

Hi, I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to programming.  I've got a question about the process of software development.  What general steps do you follow to get from the start to the end?  I sometimes get ideas for stuff at work but I stall out (I think) because I don't have a good process for taking things from concept to implementation.  It just seems overwhelming and I don't know where to start.

Let's say you've been tasked with creating a windows based CRUD app, a help desk trouble ticket system for example.  Oh, and you're working alone so you have to do everything yourself.  Ok, I know I'm going to need a database of some sort.  But at what point do you start deciding on tables and their fields?  Assume you're using an object oriented language for the application.  So, do you start thinking up objects, methods and fields first?  Do you just kind of bounce back and forth from the code to the database adding whatever you need?  That seems like hacking?

Any book reccomendations?

Thank you

(and no, this is not homework!)
Newb
Friday, June 30, 2006

Are you in the situation you describe? What is your background to be a newb and yet get this sort of task? Did you recently graduate? More info would be helpful here.

The short answer is that you just gotta pull through and do it and it gets easier later. It's helpful to have a mentor, or to have things ramp up more slowly, but you might be able to handle the challenge you described, you gotta try it and see.