The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

VMWare Applicance Challenge

Have any of you guys seen this yet?

http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/challenge/

I've been using VMWare for a few years now and continue to be really impressed with it. A contest like this is going to bring about some really cool things.
Duff Send private email
Tuesday, February 28, 2006

I e-mailed 37Signals and asked them to do a RoR virtual appliance... just download, copy over your Rails projects, and host away!

If anyone else has experience configuring an iron-clad Ruby on Rails environment, e-mail me. I would actually be willing to pay for a RoR VM that I could stick into my hosting center.

Anyways, I think the Appliance Challenge is great idea and I look forward to seeing the awesome results that come out of it.
PWills Send private email

Gee, as much as the contest is interesting, the concept of deploying a piece of software that includes all of the OS, services, libraries, and virtually everything else (pun intended) is a rather remarkable concept.

The future really does hold the idea of that of a simple memory stick holding a complete operating system, database server, web services etc…but simply appears as a simple virtual file to be run. A very interesting concept…..

Could we see such great increases in ram, disk, processing that we deploy our applications with a complete OS?

Albert D. Kallal
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Kallal@ msn.com
http://www.members.shaw.ca/AlbertKallal
Albert D. Kallal Send private email