The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

What's the downside of Java?

I've been developing for the past couple of years in scripting langauges--I'm largely self-taught. I've avoided lower-level langauges such as C/C++ because Tcl/Tk and Python do pretty much everything I need.

Scripting languages, however, have their drawbacks. Tcl and Python both suffer from a lack of quality development environments, limitations in the widget sets, and complexities with deployment. So I've been looking at alternatives for cross-platform programming.

I've been playing a bit with Java--I downloaded Netbeans 5.0 and have been working through some tutorials--and it seems light-years ahead of the average scripting language. Netbeans is the most polished development environment I've tried--much slicker than Emacs. There's an almost embarassing range of good, usable GUI builders--free as well as commercial. And there are good free/open-source install builders as well as the commercial kinds.

So what's the downside? I understand the arguments about Java apps being slow and that doesn't bother me. I also understand concerns about users having to download a JRE--no problem, I'll just ship one with my apps. (Stuffing Python + Tcl/Tk + extensions into an installer results in a pretty large package anyway.)

Java just seems like a really *cool* environment for cross-platform development--and you don't have to give an extra hundred bucks to Real Software every six months for the latest subscription to RealBasic.
Ready for Robust
Wednesday, February 22, 2006