The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Aardvark Spec

I read the document "The Project Aardvark Spec". 
It is such a mix of requirements, design and implementation that doesn't show clear and well organized thought process and lack methodical work flow.
Brad Douglas
Friday, August 19, 2005

The fast is that requirements, design and implementation ARE mixed in the "reality domain".

I came to software engineering from a hardware background. I used to be a systems engineer on big audio systems - ie systems that spanned whole buildings and involved many miles of cabling, as well as a number of indivdual bespoke boxes that had to be designed and built. Complexity was an issue here, as is planning. It takes a long time to get that wire in place and build that equipment, and if you don't know damn well what you need before you start, you will be well and truly screwed as you approach your delivery date. Mostly we did get things built on time and on budget, and I firmly believe that this was down to the working methods we were taught.

When I started in that business, the first thing impressed on me was to begin by trying to write a short "system description". It might only be 2 pages long to start - as the process continued, it would grow, but usually not over 20 pages.