The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

Learning to Appreciate Visual Basic

I've been supporting both Java and VB codebases for a couple of years ago.

In that time I've learnt to dislike the absuses of Java, especially:
  * exception handling
  * psychadelic patterns
  * unneccessary reflection
  * having to install a huge application server and 20 different frameworks just to debug a bit of code

Dear old VB, the code is so simple, so naive, so innocent.  Its intentions transparent.  Code just did what it said, and said what it did.

Then again, when it comes to deployment ActiveX controls are still a nightmare.

I'm not saying that Java is a bad language.  It makes simple straightforward coding nice a simple.  Sometimes it seems that programmers go to heroic lengths to make their code obscure.
Ged Byrne Send private email
Wednesday, August 17, 2005

Not again. Yet another thread ripe for Delphi hijack...
HS Send private email

Not trying to troll.  Just letting of steam. 

I remember being so glad to hear that we were switching to Java development.  I loved Java.  I was so looking forward to supporting decent OO applications rather than the old muddle of VB application.

When the first Java app arrived, it was a nightmare.  Working with it was so horrible.  The experience has left me a little jaded.

Now I love Ruby, but I begin to wonder what would happen if Ruby gained mainstream acceptance.  If corporate development teams started to produce applications using Ruby, what abominations would the produce?

Looking at VB code, it did do a good job of limiting the harm they could do.