The Joel on Software Discussion Group (CLOSED)

A place to discuss Joel on Software. Now closed.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Other Groups:
Joel on Software
Business of Software
Design of Software (CLOSED)
.NET Questions (CLOSED)
TechInterview.org
CityDesk
FogBugz
Fog Creek Copilot

The Old Forum

Your hosts:
Albert D. Kallal
Li-Fan Chen
Stephen Jones

BEST SQL Book

Planning to buy a SQL Server book. What's the best one, from your experience, that would teach me:

1. To create triggers
2. To write cursors
3. To program stored procedures
4. To write transactions
5. Other query optimization stuff
6. Tell me a little bit about database administration
7. MOST IMPORTANT: Map set theory with UNIONS, JOINS and stuff.

At the moment, I know SQL but I believe I need to learn more. I am a programmer who's got 7 yrs exp, so I am not a newbie. I need in depth SQL, to drink in.

Friday, October 15, 2004

I liked 'Inside SQL Server' from MS Press by Karen Delaney. It's a little 'SQL Server can do no wrong', but really goes into a lot of guts of how the DB works.
NetFreak Send private email
Friday, October 15, 2004

I found "Inside Microsoft SQL Server 7.0", by Ron Soukup and Kalen Delaney to be very good at the time, although you'd want to get an updated version to cover SQL 2000.

I also liked the old SQL Server Unleashed book, by Sams, but again make sure you get one that covers the later version of SQL.

Both of these are pretty in depth, but you can also skim them for interesting bits, as and when you need to.
Nemesis
Friday, October 15, 2004

Thank you. More. More people. More.

Friday, October 15, 2004

There's a Stored Procedures book with a green and white cover that I've beat the hell out of - it's the best for cursors and other TSQL type stuff.

Philo
Philo [MSFT] Send private email
Friday, October 15, 2004

The Guru's guide to TSQL
RedFox
Friday, October 15, 2004