.NET Questions (CLOSED)

Questions and Answers on any aspect of .NET. Now closed.

This discussion group is now closed.

Have a question about .NET development? Try stackoverflow.com, a worldwide community of great developers asking and answering questions 24 hours a day.

The archives of .NET Questions contain years of Q&A. Even older .NET Questions are still online, too.

String composed of a character repeated x number of times

I am a Java newbie and I have a trivial question.

In Java, what function/method do we have for constructing composed of a single character repeated x number of times.

I am looking for the .NET framework equivalant of this String class constructor:

public String(char c, int numTimesToRepeat);

I looked at the java.lang.String class' constructors and couldn't find one that matched my needs.
Sathyaish Chakravarthy Send private email
Wednesday, April 04, 2007

So write a method to do it.
JJ Send private email

What does this question have to do with .NET?
Art Metz Send private email

If you find one let me know. I spent quite a bit of time looking for a Java equivalent and never found one. But maybe it was right under my nose the whole time. Who knows?

But this is just one of many reasons why I like C# much better than Java.
anony mouse

Am I missing something? Why would anyone spend any significant time (more than 60 seconds) looking for such a method when you could write one in less than 60 seconds?
JJ Send private email

JJ: If the number of times to repeat was sufficiently large a simple "for" loop of concatenation would be very inefficient.  Allocating from memory a raw set of bytes and using pointers to set the value would be much quicker, but getting to that level to my knowledge is a little tricky in C# and probably not possible in VB.NET and Java.