.NET Questions (CLOSED)

Questions and Answers on any aspect of .NET. Now closed.

This discussion group is now closed.

Have a question about .NET development? Try stackoverflow.com, a worldwide community of great developers asking and answering questions 24 hours a day.

The archives of .NET Questions contain years of Q&A. Even older .NET Questions are still online, too.

.NET desktop application performance VS Native apps

I am a Delphi native Win32 developer thinking (very lightly) about preparing for a move to .NET

However, I have heard all kinds of opinions on .NET performance.

I know that .NET is optimized for the hardware you run it on, unlike compiled software looking at the lowest common denominator.  I have also seen people do performance benchmarks against Delphi and shown it to run faster.

But, benchmarks are normally testing very specific things.  What I want to know is if anyone has take a small desktop application using pretty complex UI controls and created the project in both native and .NET and then looked at its overall performance including what most users see which is GUI responsiveness.  Anyone?  Maybe this is a good challenge for MS or CodeGear to demonstrate.  And more in CodeGears favor if native is that much faster then .NET

I have read that WPF is going to add more hardware assisted performance to the GUI than WinForms and I wonder if that will bring it in line performance-wise with native GUI desktop apps.

Also alot of myths of .NET speed seem to stem from opinions based on the older versions of .NET.  Has .NET 2.0 made significant performance improvements especially in the GUI responsiveness?  I know that the XML parsing libs were so enhanced that they now beat out the fastest Java XML parser and those are pretty fast.  Although it would be interesting to pit it against the native lib2xml ones to see how much faster native XML parsing is (both DOM and SAX).
Jeff C. Send private email
Sunday, March 11, 2007