The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

A Database design question

Hello,
I want to design a software using SQL server 2000. I am new to database design.

I have a table with unique USER_ID. Each User must be given permission to read one or more specific documents in my site.

For e.g. user 'A' should be allowed to read articles C1, C2 and C5. And user 'B' can see C2, C3, and user 'C' can see all.

So we have 'n' users, and 'X' articles where each user can be allowed to read one or more of the 'X' articles. When I pull up a "add new reader" page, I must be then able to assign the readable articles.

My question is how do you do data design to allow such a possibility (the most effecient way in SQL server 2000). I don't have a good knowledge of DB's - the issue I see here is if there are large number of readers and articles, then how do we map each user to the allowed list of articles?

(Someone may now scream this is a bad system - let's ignore that for now, OK :) I'm throwing an idea for something else but the fundamental principle/problem remains the same)
Anonymouse Database Coward
Tuesday, March 08, 2005

If I understand your post correctly, one way of implementing what you describe is the following three tables:

User
===============
UserID [PK]
UserName
UserDetails

Article
===============
ArticleID [PK]
ArticleDetails

UserArticle
===============
UserID [PK]
ArticleID [PK]

Hope this helps...
+= Send private email
Tuesday, March 08, 2005

I'm not a DB expert, but I'd have thought if you want such fine grained detail the obvious solution is a table with

User_ID Article_ID
U1 C1
U1 C4
U1 C5
U2 C2
U2 C3