The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Application Architecture

Hello everyone.

I'm a recent college grad, and I'm working for a small company developing in VB.Net against SQL Server. Everythings going reasonably well, but the more I do, the more I've realised that a large part of my knowledge is missing.

In college we did programming (of course), systems analysis (UML etc) and software engineering (methodologies, testing and QA etc), all of which were important in and of themselves. To my mind however, there's a large topic in between those that wasn't addressed, and isn't generally addressed in the literature - program design. By that I mean the actual details and trade-offs of developing systems.

We all know that an app should have presentation/business logic/data layers, but there are 101 other things involved in implementing that. Different types of systems merit different designs, the degree of coupling or decoupling of different layers, etc.

This has come up because our app is basically a client running against SQL Server directly. The winforms are riddled with raw ADO.Net, and whilst much of the logic of the app is in modules/classes, it still operates on DataRows and DataTables. I can see these becoming an eventual problem. It's already an issue with a legacy Access/VBA app which has logic code riddled with an ungodly combination of DAO/ADO code, and will have to be rewritten. It would be nice to avoid this problem in the future.

So (at last) the question: what have you used as guides/references/tutorials for this topic?
Sobriquet Send private email
Thursday, September 23, 2004