The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Design for Scalability

Hi,

I am very new to design patterns and mostly OO methodologies. I was writing a simple client code that requires to obtain an interfacing Internet address of a machine that the code is running on -- whether being connected directing to the Internet or through LAN.

At first, I could just simply write a code to perform such task right into the client code but it's not expandable. So what does a good designer do? He writes an interface and its implementation, great. So, whether my implementation acquires IP address from a LAN router, parsing a downloaded HTML from a site that runs a script asking for external IP address and retrieving it that way, or some other method, in either case, I can plug in the implemented interface in my client code and accomplish the same task, i.e.:

interface IPInfs { String getIP(); }
class RouterIPImpt implements IPInfs { //... }
class HTMLParseIPImpt implements IPInfs { //... }

// Client class that uses any of the implementations
IPInfs ip = new RouterIPImpt(); // OR
IPInfs ip = new HTMLParseIPImpt();
// etc.

So if another guy comes years from now and w
My questions is, what if the client code needs to stay intact? That is to say, the code that utilizes IPInfs for its work cannot be changed, yet it must provide some flexibility that any implementation that is created in the future can be easily be plugged in and used instead of the current one?

One way (at least in java) is to have a persistent property file with pairs of value that the client code can extract a single implementation value (class name) and use it to load an appropriate class, i.e.

// ip.properties file