The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Storing Data W/O Using a Relational Database

As a young developer, SQL & Relational Databases has been hammered into me like it's the only way we should store data.  If I want to write a win app, find a way to put a SQL database in it.  If I want to write a web app, of course, use SQL.  If I want to do anything which involves data, use SQL!

What are some other options I can use to store data or is SQL really the only hammer I should consider when storing data?
YoungDev
Wednesday, December 03, 2008

XML files are one option, I suppose.  But, as an older developer, I prefer relational databases.
old gas bag

Like most things in programming it really depends on what you are doing.

If you have an application where users are inputting, editing, and reporting on data then yes, a relational database is probably your best bet. Of course you have a wide selection of database to choose from things like Access and SQLite for low end embedded database up to Oracle for very high end server databases.

If you application treats "data" in more of a document oriented fashion then you may be able to get away with just storing data in a file in a custom format or (please don't crucify me) XML.
Dan B Send private email

One obvious alternative would be one of the various cloud options.
D. Lambert Send private email

You really need to give people enough information so they can answer your question. For instance, how much data do you need to store? What type of data is it (application configuration options or an online order database)? How will the data be used (lookup table type data or order entry information)?