The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

REALBasic or Python?

Disclaimer: I'm not a real programmer.
My background is in graphic design. Over the last 4 years or so, I have been putting together web sites and CMS's for my clients using PHP and MySQL. At first, I really didn't like "programming" and looked at it as something I needed to pick up in order to attract/retain clients. But, the more I learned, the more I enjoyed programming. I have spent counltless hours learning programming concepts and methodlogies, design patterns, OOP, unit testing, and every other buzzword.
Being a designer, I work on a mac. Of course, this does not present a problem for web programming. However, some clients of mine are interseted in some small in-house apps and I'm not sure what to do.
1. Will I find that web programming and desktop programming are not really that similar and be in over my head?
2. If the answer to question 1 is no, what language would be the best to learn considering I'm in a mac enviroment and my clients(most of them anyway) are in a windows enviroment? REALBasic or Python?

Thanks for any suggestions
Send private email
Wednesday, February 02, 2005

Why not set up a server in their office and write your app in php and MySQL?
Steven A Bristol Send private email

Well, from what I hear Java is pretty nice to work with on the Mac. Since I don't own or use a Mac I cannot confirm this... However, Java does have a rich GUI environment (Swing) that you can use to build some nice looking desktop applications.
TownDrunk Send private email