The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Using SQLite backed in .NET apps ?

I'm new to developing on Windows.  All my previous development has been on Unix systems (mainly web apps, but some backend server stuff too).

I really like SQLite.  A no nonsense, small, light database engine.  For my apps, I've never needed anything more feature-rich or powerful.

Now I've started in .NET land.  When developing with Visual Studio I can create databases within my app to store data.  I've seen around the web that I can get a SQLite "plugin" (uncertain if that is the correct term ... apologies if not) for .NET / VS.

My question - has anyone used SQLite with their .NET apps instead of the built-in Microsoft engine?  If so, why?  Did it make things quicker?  Did it make datastores smaller?  Did you hope less people would casually poke around inside your app's database as it wasn't immediately obvious the file on disk _was_ a database?

Thanks,

Steve.
Steven
Thursday, November 20, 2008

Ah dammit....

s/backed/backEND/ in title.

Sorry.....
Steven

I used system.data.sqlite.dll in my last project, and it works and performs without a hitch. I'm not worried about poking - if I was, I'd enable encryption.

SQLite is great!
Zealotry

i too used system.data.sqlite.dll on a recent project. i'm a recent adopter of .net languages and a long-time user of sqlite. no problems so far.

-din
Don Dickinson

Hi,

This is indeeed a nice light weight engine and I recommend it. I use it for data collection and reporting.

Have a look for sqlite explorer. Its a really nice GUI environment to manage your SQLite databases.