The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Suggested practices for individual developer

I am an independent developer. I face problems while designing and testing solutions. Most of the time, code is not of good quality when there is pressure from the client. I want to know what practices I can follow to deliver good quality product and how to test the application alone when I cannot hire testers.
RP
Friday, September 26, 2008

version control, automated builds, unit tests, etc

Perhaps taking a look at Code Complete would be helpful.
Andrew Austin Send private email

Peter Send private email

Do not forget to use any of the version control system (I use subversion) for individual development.

Once you accidently delete some file or do some stupid coding, you will realise its importance.
I have reverted to previous versions of files many times!
Smart Components Send private email
Sunday, September 28, 2008

In practical terms, keep control of your update process. This is usually where things go wrong...

I keep a folder for updates, in there I put sql patches, release notes, configuration updates. I just toss them in as I work on the next release. I keep a simple word document in there to track all the things that were changed.

I work on the code, and make changes to database and stored procedures.

I never use table editors to apply the changes. I instead save the changes as a script. Then I run that script against my dev database. If it works, I save it in my sql updates directory. Any adjustment to the database I am careful to put aside as a script.