The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

What is the backend of 'cloud' server software written in?

anybody know (or have links) about what the software behind web bases client/server software (e.g. GMail) is written in?  C++/Java/python/modules written in whichever works for each module?

I've been looking at the Chrome browser, google gears and the general move to computing as a service.  The front-end/gui is javascript I suppose.  But not very much is talked about the server side.

Reason I am wondering is I am a C++ dev and wonder if there is much future work in C++ client side/desktop apps.  I enjoy working on the gui side of things but have quite a bit of experience with server side.  Are things going to become javascript programmers writing the GUI and something else programmers working on server software, and what is that something else?
not the nonno
Tuesday, September 09, 2008

According to Steve Yeggie, he used to work at amazon and now works at google, both allow certain languages to be used server side.  The list I remember off the top of my head is C++,Java, Javascript at both, python at google, perl, and lisp at amazon.  It seems to me that Java and asp.net(C# or vb.net) are the two big server side web technologies at the moment.  Sure there is a lot of buzz around ROR and Python but they don't seem to be making the big inroads that MS and Sun have in the server side programming market.
soup
Tuesday, September 09, 2008

I would love to see you, or anyone else, write a GUI in javascript. I hope you were refering to the logic behind the GUI.

As for server-side, pick a language and it has probably been used.