The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

which framework/tech for this

I would like to start playing with building a site (portal?) centered around a specific subject supporting communal activities (how is that for vague!). There are existing such sites already for various subjects, but most are living in the dark ages in terms of usability, technology, etc. Depending on how the experiment goes, it could also involve some webapp development as well.

Even though I've been trying to get upto speed with all the available technologies de jour, I am still pretty new to this stuff. So the question is which of the following should I pick to go with (at least initially):

1) Build it from scratch
  1a) PHP + an MVC framework
  1b) Ruby on Rails
  1c) ASP.NET MVC

2) Use drupal (or a similar suitable off-the-shelf CMS) + available modules + custom ones which I would write

Either would work I guess. The visionary in me says, go for 1) for most flexibility, thinking 2) may be too limiting, but then again, I am a newbie, so perhaps I should go with 2), get some experience and then try 1) after that.

Btw, if you don't like my options, feel free to recommend something else.
builder
Tuesday, August 26, 2008

I would choose whatever option allowed you to create a "beta" version of the website as quick as possible.

If everything goes well (i.e. you have lots of users ... and even better people paying you money) then improve as required.

If things go really really well and you have scalability issues consider re-writing then.