The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Installer for Mac

Hi,

I want to port .NET application using Mono to macOS x 10.5 and above.

Has anyone used : http://my.smithmicro.com/mac/stuffitinstallermaker/index.html?im-

in conjunction with Mono Distribution? Pls share your experiences.
CoreSoft Send private email
Tuesday, July 22, 2008

You're going to get eaten alive by Mac users for using mono/.net and not using native Objective-C and Cocoa.

Good luck with that...
TownDrunk
Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Thanks,

So according to you, I should develop product on 2 different platforms ? That is grossly expensive and time consuming.

How about Using J2EE ? I am new to Mac but a Pro in both .NET(C# and VB.NET) and Java. So can you share you experience ?

Otherwise I will drop the idea altogether for Mac and let them use some kind of Virtual PC (will provide blog on my site.)
CoreSoft Send private email
Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Can't comment on Mono, but Stuffit's star is greatly faded since Mac OS 9 days and probably isn't something you want or need to use.

These days Mac apps are often distributed via disk images containing completely self-contained .app bundles that just need dragged to /Applications to install. Otherwise the stock PackageMaker generally does the job:

http://developer.apple.com/documentation/DeveloperTools/Conceptual/PackageMakerUserGuide

See also:

http://developer.apple.com/documentation/Porting/Conceptual/PortingUnix/distributing/chapter_9_section_1.html
has Send private email
Tuesday, July 22, 2008

+1 to shipping .dmg files.
If you can't do that, use the standard packagemaker (comes with XCode, which is on the OS X DVD, but not installed by default)