The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

threads?

When you login to Google Analytics and click on "View Reports", the Dashboard starts loading, and you see the various sections getting filled with content, like "Visitor Overview", "Map Overlay", ... They seem to be updating independently of each other. How is that done? Separate threads?

On a separate note, I hear over and over that threads are hard to get right, and Joel thinks forking is better than using threads, but forking seems like an overkill for say handling GUI code to improve app responsiveness..

So, when should I be using threads then?
threader
Monday, June 09, 2008

AJAX
uggh
Monday, June 09, 2008

I don't know AJAX. I am not a web developer. Does that mean it is using threads or not?
threader
Monday, June 09, 2008

It looks like Firefox creates a new thread for each XMLHttpRequest: http://www.alexyoung.org/articles/show/16/dismantling_browser_ajax_handling
John Topley Send private email
Tuesday, June 10, 2008

With proper design, threading can be easier than forking.  IPC  in a forking design usually requires more overhead in both compute terms and in code terms.  Though there is more protection from mistakes.  Having worked for company that only used forking and working for a company that mostly uses threading, there is little to no difference in the issues you have to consider when designing for each.
Brian
Tuesday, June 10, 2008

In my last gig we had a dual-threaded application that was a nightmare. Nightmare to debug, nightmare to update, nightmare just to wrap your head around.