The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Backup of an SQLite database file

My app uses an SQLite database and I want to implement some database backup with a posilitity to send me a copy, so I can troubleshoot if needed.

The SQLite database is a single file, which is created from scratch on the client's PC when the app is run for the first time. Now the question is, do I need to set permissions of the file somehow prior to zipping and sending it by e-mail to me? Or do I just ZIP it and I will be able to open the database on my PC?

I am not very experienced in file permissions, so I am asking. If there will be any problems with moving the DB file to another PC, can I just allow everyone to change the file and that's it?

Thanks,
Petr
Petr Veit
Monday, May 12, 2008

As long as you can read it, you can send it.  The most important thing is to make sure you do your backup when no other transactions are running.  Hopefully there aren't any journal files laying around, but if there are, back those up and send them too since they're part of the database consistency guarantee.
Doug
Monday, May 12, 2008

Thanks Doug,

I understand that I can send the file, but will I be able to use it on another PC due to any permissions applied to the DB file when the DB was created on the client's PC?

I also thought that SQLite database is only one file. Are there any other files I should check?

Thanks,
Petr
Petr Veit
Monday, May 12, 2008

there are no permissions. sqlite doesn't have any permissions or authentication of its own. simply file-system permissions apply. once the file is give to you (zipped and emailed or whatever), you own the file. so, you shouldn't have any troubles.

-don
Don Dickinson Send private email