The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Migrating to Java

Hi,
I have an existing client server application in Delphi and PL-SQL.It is a standalone application which needs to be installed in all the client machines and a centralised database system acts as the server.Reports are generated using Adobe output designer.

Now i need to suggest a better design which will be followed for the java migration.Please let me know how to do it.I am new to s/w designing and have no idea about all these things.
Indra Banerjee Send private email
Monday, May 05, 2008

Why java?
qback
Monday, May 05, 2008

I would agree why Java.  That said if you go to Java you can keep your pl/sql and just call that from Java.  It wouls save some of the rewrite and it would allow you to keep your unit tests of the pl/sql.
Jim Send private email
Monday, May 05, 2008

Why are people asking "why Java"? Don't we get enough second guessing around here already? This statement in the original post should have been enough to explain that Java is probably being mandated by someone else with more authority: "Now i need to suggest a better design which will be followed for the java migration.". The key words are "suggest a better design" which indicates that someone above is asking the OP to just "make it work".