The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

One product, many different repositories

I work for a government contractor.  My particular department made most of its money from a single product that was developed with roughly 150 man-years of effort.  As the product became more well-known, several government agencies decided they wanted tailored versions.

Our solution? Copy each version of the code into a new repository (not a branch, but a new repository), and then continuing tailoring and doing new development on each independently.  It is rare to see improvements/bug fixes propagate from one repository to any other.

Starting way back in 2003 when I was a wet-behind-the-ears recent grad, I started warning senior software engineers and architects that maintaining multiple repositories would be needlessly expensive and difficult, but no one listened.  They argued that each customer had different needs, and my suggestion to focus on creating a centralized, reusable library of components was impractical.

Flash forward to last week, and now people are talking about starting a 14th repository for a new flavor of our product.

Am I completely out of whack, or is it a really bad idea for a (currently) 30 developer department to be maintaining 14 different repositories of what is essentially the same product?  Any ideas of what we should do now that we're where we are?
Mai Hedd-Hurtz Send private email
Friday, April 25, 2008

As often, good questions give rise to follow up questions:-)

First, some observations of mine:
a - your department seems to miss an architect in person.