The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Testing websites on Safari without a Mac?

One part question, one part public plea to Apple... if anybody from Apple is reading. 

As a web developer, I'd like to make sure my sites work well with Apple's Safari web browser. Unfortunately, this is impossible without a Mac. Solutions range from imperfect (testing on another KHTML-based browser like Konqueror) to expensive (even at $499, buying a Mac just to test webpages is pricy) to impractical (running an emulator such as PearPC under another OS) to *extremely* impractical (there are websites that show you a snapshot of your page in Safari, but this is slow and doesn't work for sites behind a firewall, as all development environments should be).

I realize that for a lot of people and shops, spending $500 on a Mac Mini is pretty much a no-brainer purchase.  But don't underestimate the percentage of webpages developed by individuals and garage shops.  Also, a lot of developers work for companies whose main business is *not* software development.  While Fog Creek might not blink when it comes to spending $500 on a proper test platform, the guy working in the underfunded web development portion of "Ned's Widget Shop" might have a hard time getting a purchase approved.

Does anybody have a better solution? Apple, please help us to help you... give us Mac-less developers ways to make our sites work better with your software.  Think Firefox would have gotten support from developers if it cost $500?
John Booty Send private email
Wednesday, January 19, 2005