The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

.NET C# to C++

How hard would it be to translate code written in C# to C++?

Back story: I want to switch to .NET for various reasons, but this will lock me to Windows only, which isn't a big deal at the moment, but in case I'd like to go back to C++ for cross-platform development (say on Mac), how hard would be to rewrite the code in C++?

This will be a manual translation. I don't want to buy or create an automatic translator or anything.

My background is in C++. I am new to C#, but it appears that the translation wouldn't be too too hard (apart from any custom GUI elements). A lot of things appear much easier in C# and could potentially be replicated in C++ using STL, Boost, etc.

But I thought I'd ask the crowd here and see if anyone attempted such a thing..
newbie_C#
Thursday, April 17, 2008

Sounds like a non-starter to me.  You would need to duplicate all the .NET Framework stuff you use in your application.
Joe
Thursday, April 17, 2008

To give you an idea of the scope of the problem, the easiest way to do it is probably to design a metalanguage and build two compilers for it, one that emits emit C# and one that emits C++.
Robert Rossney Send private email
Thursday, April 17, 2008

You can look at Mono as an option for cross-platform .NET apps...or Silverlight.

Porting from C# to C++ is a non-starter. If cross platform is a real need and Mono/Silverlight won't be sufficient then pick a different framework than .NET.

But to get a handle on how difficult it is, as a worst case scenario look at Mono. It took them quite a while (years) to implement all the .NET 1.1 functionality and still have a ways to go with 3.5. You'd have to go through the same process.