The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

12-hour clock confusion

We are developing a portable equipment that will be able to switch between 24 and 12-hour clock. Since 24-hour clock is standard here in Europe, I have no experience with the AM/PM clock.

I have found here: http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/maps/utc/utc24.rxml that 00:10 (10 minutes past midnight) is converted to 12:10am and not 00:10am. Is this really common, meaning that 00:10am is a nonsense?

Thanks for clarification,
Petr
Petr Veit
Wednesday, April 02, 2008

Yes, that is correct.
JB

Yes. With a 12h clock, it's 12:10 AM (not 00:10).
somebody else

"Is this really common, meaning that 00:10am is a nonsense?"

If you're going to display the time to people here in the US, then yes, don't do that.

FYI, "is a nonsense" isn't the correct term. You would either say "is invalid", which is almost certainly what you meant, or "is nonsense", which means that it's stupid.

No offense meant, you certainly speak English better than I speak your language (:=)
Steve Hirsch Send private email

This is a good example of some of the subtle issues with building software that really works (and makes sense!) everywhere in the world. 

Proper timezone handling turned out to be one of more aggravating issues to get right with our application - everything from how you let customers pick their timezone to proper handling of daylight savings time, dealing with POSIX's annoying interpretation of GMT+n, etc.  With the internet being as pervasive as it is now, it's difficult to narrow the problem down.  We were about to ignore those funky timezones that are't a full hour off of UTC, only to have our third customer that signed up come from UTC+5:30...