The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

SQL Compact Edition or Firebird Embedded ?

I need to choose an embeded database for my Windows desktop application programmed in C# .NET.

I have tried both SQL Server Compact Edition 3.5 and FireBird Embedded 2.0.1 and both seem to work. I have no experience with either of them, so I ask here. Which one to choose?

The app will be run only on a local Windows machine all over the World. Typical database size can be about 250 000 new rows per year with data storage for about 5 years. The rows in the tables will be pretty simple, I have no big SQL experience anyway.

Thank you for suggestions,
Petr
Petr Veit
Wednesday, March 19, 2008

If you aren't familiar with it, consider SQLite. It's a remarkable product and a quick google search shows lots of advice for using it with .net. Don't let the "lite" part of the name fool you -- it is an extremely robust, full featured, mature, zero-config, serverless transactional database.

And it's in the public domain. That's right, no license at all. Remarkable.
Just another voice in the crowd

Firebird and SSCE differ significantly in capabilities. Do you need views? Only Firebird supports them. Stored procs? Again, only Firebird.

This is not a situation where the two products have feature parity. Choose the one with the features you need.
Matt.

I use derby (formally JAVA DB) myself, it scales up really well.
Richard Corsale Send private email

Matt: I've never used stored procedures or views, so I think I don't need them.

It seems that SQL CE is better supported directly in Visual Studio. I am just fighting with Firebird to be able to see my database in Server Explorer in VS.
Petr Veit