The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Anything better than SQL?

A recent thread 

http://discuss.joelonsoftware.com/default.asp?design.4.58916.18

posed an SQL query problem. Several solutions were provided.

Are there really no easier solutions in SQL? Do any databases support any query language that makes it any easier? Granted I’m a novice, but the solutions here seem unduly complex. I’m currently implementing my own DBMS, and my object model supports the following solution: 

Q =: Query.New ‘’
Q.Table := ‘SCIENTIST’
Q.Fields := 'NAME' ‘etc’
Q.AddSelection ‘XREF’  ‘BIOLOGY’  ‘SPECIALTY.DESC = “Biology”’
R:=Q.Execute'~BIOLOGY'

The AddSelection method (you can add as many as you want) takes the name of a table, an arbitrary name to represent a boolean array for later execution, and a selection statement. The trick is to perform the negation after mapping the boolean array that corresponds to XREF into SCIENTIST.

It seems to me that one of the fundamental problems with SQL is when you want to select rows from a “small” table based on criteria in a “Large table”, ie, a one to many relationship. 

Are there any commercial alternatives to SQL out there?
Freddy Hayek
Monday, January 17, 2005

SQL is horrible, but apparently doesn't itch too many people. Python is great, but everyone and their sister are busy designing lesser languages. Weird.

Nevertheless ....

xplain [ http://www.berenddeboer.net/xplain/ ] is slightly better, but not really different.

q and ksql [ http://kx.com ] are so much better, but seem to be sourrounded by a SEP field.

There are probably other alternatives I'm not aware of.
Ori Berger Send private email
Monday, January 17, 2005