The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Shall I teach myself C or C++?

Hi all,

I'm a software engineering undergraduate in the UK, in a course which teaches concepts mainly through Java. Having read a lot of forums and canvassed employer's websites I think it's vital I am able to program in C or C++ also.

A little background to my course: where programming in Java has been used, it has been used to teach the concepts of programming (almost exclusively OOP), such as the importance of design, testing methodologies, data structures and algorithms, and also graphics implementation (focussed on the maths of it). So I have a good idea of concepts (though I have a HELLUVA lot to learn), it's not been the case that we've been spoiled with library routines.

We've also had some classes using C, and classes on the architecture of computers - based on Patterson & Hennessey's MIPS. This has given me an insight into what happens down on the metal, cache effects and whatnot. With regards to C though, it was a one semester class, and so I've not had much experience of it.

That's just a background which isn't too relevant, really my question is, which one should I learn, C or C++?

Since I already have a fair grasp of OOP, it might be good to learn a procedural language. But I've also heard that C is a subset of C++, so can I kill two birds with one stone and essentially learn both by learning C++? And where's a good book/source/community to learn?

Hope I've made sense, and posted in the right place.

~ Graham
GrahamAllan Send private email
Saturday, January 26, 2008