The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Fileformat Conversion,need advice on design approaches?

Hi all,

I'm a beginner and this is the first time I will have to do a file format conversion.
Now as I was just wondering about the solution but I'm still not sure how should I go about doing this. I mean here is what I've in my mind.
I know how both formats look like. For example, say, I've to convert file A to file B. File A might contain a label like [link] and I will map it to generate a html link for file B, just an example.

So I intend to write a desktop program where user will open file-open dialog and open file A. Now, once file A is opened then I enter into a _while loop_ and within that loop(which ends once we reach the last character of the file)I will read chunks of file A and convert labels like [link] to a html link using if-else structures.
Now though this might sound correct but I'm really looking for a more elegant approach. To experienced programmers who've done file-conversion in past:
Do you really do all that stuff in a while-loop using if-else structures? Can other Data-Structures be used for file-conversion utilities e.g. Hashtables, Trees and etc?

I'm not a native speaker but I hope I've made things clear. If something is still vague I will try to re-phrase my question but I'm just looking for a more elegant approach using some nice Data structures.
Thanks,
Oltmans
Oltmans Send private email
Saturday, January 12, 2008

Three obvious approaches.
1, Traditional = use yacc/lex to parse the file and automatically generate code to convert file.
2, Modern = convert file A into an XML representation and then use xslt to generate the html from this