The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

(Very) New to Web development

Hi Guys,

I'm in the process of building an e-commerce website to sell my products. My website front-end has been written in Flash by a graphic design house and I'm pretty pleased with it.

The next stage is I want to integrate this front-end with the back-end processing necessary to manage users, search and update my stock, handle payment processing, etc. I did consider a templatized e-shop but I wanted my site to have a unique look which required too much customization.

I'm an experienced software engineer but in distributed telecoms rather then web development. Can you tell me the best (or obvious) way to integrate this Flash front-end with the back-end machinery?

Should I use PHP or Perl and would this, at least from a coding level, provide me access to APIs for payment processing, database etc.?

At the moment the back-end is non-existent and I'm trying to work out whether I should try to build it myself and learn on the way or whether this is a job which requires more experience and manpower.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
YMC
YMC Send private email
Tuesday, January 08, 2008

This is a big enough job, and one where security matters enough, that I really wouldn't recommend it as a first web development project. If you do it yourself, read up on web application security before you get started and have somebody who knows what they're doing review your work at various points and before you launch. I'd also suggest looking over some existing systems and seeing how they approach tax and shipping. Some of the rules are surprisingly complex.