The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

ECMAScript subset parser in - hand code or use generator

Hi,

I need a parser to embed in my product, target language is subset of ECMAScript, implementation in C++.

Now I know how to hand code a parser (have done many times in past).

From the other side there are parser generators out there that presumably will do it faster than I will do it manually. Problem is I have no experience with generators and don't know what to expect. I looked into Lemon http://www.hwaci.com/sw/lemon/ and it looks good on paper.

Can anyone who has experience in both hand coding parsers and using generators tell me what kind of problems to watch for in generators and if it is really worth learning how to use them or I just better do it the way I know?

Thanks in advance
TN Send private email
Monday, December 24, 2007

I've used GNU bison on some personal projects, and spent a bit of time at work maintaining hand-written recursive descent parsers. (This isn't the main focus of my job; they're just things that cropped up.)

I've found GNU Bison way better than writing by hand. I suspect Lemon would be the same. Quicker to create, easier to modify, automatic detection of ambiguities, fewer bugs, the source code looks vaguely like a grammar diagram. If you've got a specific compelling reason to write the parser by hand, then you should, but in the absence of any such you'd be best off getting the computer to do the bulk of the work for you.

(You may have to meet it halfway for certain things, but it should still be quicker than doing it yourself!)
Tom_

Tom, thanks for reply.