The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Data exchange between server & app

What is the best way to exchange data between the client apps and the server? XML? JSON? REST?

The client app is custom (i.e. not a browser), but it could use whatever method the webapps use these days.

I am rather new to webapp technologies. If you could also suggest any books that cover your answer (which you personally found to be useful), I would appreciate it.
coder
Monday, December 10, 2007

What platforms are your client and server running on, and do you want to keep the Data exchange platform neutral?
Ted Elliott

clients -> MSWin
servers -> LAMP

Platform neutral sounds like a good thing. :)
coder

I've been very pleased with my first attempt at REST style APIs. What really appeals to me is that I can give consumers a standard link instead of explaining a complex remote procedure call.

JSON is compact and very slick for JavaScript consumption, but XML is a lot easier to debug visually. The "best" answer will of course depend on your specific requirements.
Stan James Send private email

I would say you'd probably have the best support using xml, i.e. there are plenty of frameworks and libraries out there for parsing and reading xml.  If you're sending lots of data or need very fast communication you might want to try JSON.  If you're using .NET on your client, I maintain an open-source JSON serializer library for C# on google code: http://jsonexserializer.googlecode.com .  You can find others for a wide variety of languages at http://www.json.org.
Ted Elliott

What are some of the security issues with data exchange using JSON and XML? Isn't this similar to the "SQL injection attack" scenarios?
coder