The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Thinking of a good way to redesign a complicated hack of a DB

Hello everyone.

I'm currently looking at redesigning my company's existing database (actually I'm looking at redesigning the entire system).  The current thing is a mishmash hackjob put together by a glorified, self-taught Access developer who evidently never heard of anything but tables and queries; it seems like every time some new analysis was needed, he'd hack it together in Access and then export it to SQL Server as a table.  There are currently 96 tables (see below, however)

There's a slight snag in this process, though.  We're an e-commerce company, and we also take care of the product/etc information for another e-commerce company (we have a partnership, but we don't own them).  There are two databases, one for each company, with 90% of the functionality duplicated (the products are the same; the only difference is the list of customers and the prices of the individual items).  Thus, changes made to one (or to the web site, or to the back-end administration site) need to be made to the other or things will break and not work.