The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

TDD for 1 man

Hi

I have no or little experience with unit testing or test driven development. Yet I'm considering if I should jump on the wagon and start using just unit tests or start doing TDD.
The project has not yet been started, so I guess TDD would be easier and more beneficial that if the project was already being worked on.
But how much would TDD help me as I'm just a team of one? As I understand it TDD and other agile methods works best in a team, but maybe I'm wrong?

What's you experience?
Karsten Send private email
Wednesday, November 21, 2007

I work on my own and all production code is Test Driven. It has to be to provide me with confidence that the product is of a high quality. I have limited time so it makes sense to avoid introducing bugs now rather than fix them later.

TDD with c#, NUnit, NMock2, NCover and TestDriven.net (addin) is incredibly quick and addictive. Couple all that with continuous interation (CruiseControl.net) and you'll be sorted.

TDD isn't a team thing, and remember the quality of your production code is only as good as the quality of your unit tests.
Mike
Thursday, November 22, 2007

I can second Mike's experience. We have two developers, and adopted TDD just under a year ago. Since then, we've seen a marked reduction in reported bugs, and an increase in repeatability within our codebase.

Coupled with CruiseControl.NET it's a real winner (you can even run CC.NET on a laptop if you are mobile, and CCNET will  ensure your tests stay green).

I'd strongly recommend the combination of TDD and continuous integration for ANY developer - even if you are working alone.
Anna-Jayne Metcalfe Send private email