The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Getting back on track

Hi,

I'm a hobbyist programmer, having started with Microsoft QBasic way back, and then eventually moving on to fiddling with Visual Basic 4, and later VB6. I would develop simple programs for myself, friends and family to use. Testing basically involved myself and my 'beta-testing' friends running the program through various ways to see if we can crash it somehow. It was simple, but fun.

Then I got a little busier with school and work and left things for a while. Recently I started with the VS2005 express editions, and it got my interests up again. Being a volunteer with a local non-profit group, I'm currently working on an administrative support and inventory management system for them.

I've been looking around and it seemed that lots of things seemed to have changed (at least from my point of view since the old days). VB now involves something called .NET; .NET itself involves other things such as CLR, DLR, WPF, WCF, WWF... There's alot of emphasis nowadays on unit testing, source and version control, service-oriented architecture, web services and compliance...

When I first started with the project, I had thought it would be just like the old days, now there seems like there's so much more I should be concerned with. And since I'm trying to develop a helper application for a third-party, I'm naturally a little more concerned than if I'm writing stuff for myself.

I'm a little overwhelmed, and I'm no longer quite sure where to start. Would appreciate if you guys could give me some pointers. I'm comfortable with the VS IDE and working with .NET technologies, but I think it would benefit me to know more about the following: