The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Does PHP work well for fairly complex business logic?

If I am developing a fairly completed app - like an ERP or something - is PHP the wrong language to choose?

I am concerned about maintainability.
walterbyrd
Monday, October 08, 2007

I think PHP is a mature language and there are a lot of complex applications out there that makes use of it. For example the CMS system, Drupal uses it. Some of the web hosting reseller management systems use it. I think in terms of maintainability it all boils down on how the application is written and not in the language/scripting tool used.
Phillip Flores Send private email
Monday, October 08, 2007

Hi Walterbyrd,

I'm not an expert PHP programmer but as far as I know PHP (since version 5) is a very good programming language.

Any software project can be developed poorly in any language just as any software project can be developed well in "most" languages.

If you plan, structure, document and have good testing procedures I believe PHP is good choice.

Look at some of the large open source PHP products to see how they structure their projects. 

Your experience and the requirements of the project probably need to be taken into consideration when requesting feedback on the suitability of a technology.
Ray Smith Send private email
Monday, October 08, 2007

If it's poorly designed, it doesn't matter the language.

If it's well-designed PHP, then you shouldn't have a problem at all.  Check out the frameworks and see what you think.  I use the Zend Framework personally.
KC Send private email
Monday, October 08, 2007

This is an interesting blog on the creator of CD Baby's experience with PHP.